Training Assessing Quality Assurance (TAQA)

Qualification 6317:40.41,42

Who is it for?

The TAQA unit qualifications provide people who carry out assessment and internal quality assurance roles in their organisation with the opportunity to develop and improve their practice and achieve the professional qualification.

Qualification units for Internal Quality Assurance Staff:

  • Level 3 Award in Assessing Competence in the Work Environment
  • Level 3 Award in Assessing Vocationally Related Achievement
  • Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement

Level 3 Award in Education and Training (6502) City & Guilds

The qualification is for those who work, or want to work as teachers/trainers in the further education and skills sector, including those who are not in a teaching role, or who have just started a teaching role, and include Award-size qualifications for those who want a short qualification to enable them to make career choices.

  • Unit 301 Understanding roles, responsibilities and relationships in education and training
  • Unit 303 Facilitate learning and development for individuals
  • Unit 304 Facilitate learning and development in groups
  • Unit 306 Understanding the principles and practices of assessment

Qualification (requires 3 units to be completed)

About These Qualifications

They were developed for those working in all types of accredited learning, non-accredited learning, and where awarding bodies apply quality standards, which includes NQF (National Qualifications Framework) and the QCF.

There is the Award and Certificate at Level 3 in Assessment or an Award and Certificate at Level 4 in Internal Quality Assurance. In addition – to complete the suite of qualifications – units and qualifications for trainers and tutors are designed in being specifically relevant to those working in the skilled roles.

The qualifications consist of a mix of units – some competence-based and some knowledge-based units. The knowledge-only units (are titled ‘Understanding the principles and practices of…’) allow anyone who is interested in or needs to know about assessment and quality assurance – but is not a practitioner – to acquire relevant knowledge and information about the roles.

Successful achievers will understand the principles of assessment and internalquality assurance and have the knowledge to develop and improve systems at their work place, training centre or learning provider.

These qualifications will eventually be part of a full framework of qualifications for trainers, assessors and quality assurance personnel.

Time to change up?

Pre 2010 Assessors and Verifiers would have taken qualifications designated with the qualification code A1 and V1. Significant changes brought in by the QCF (Qualifiction Curriculum Framework) resulted in the new qualifications referred to by the code name TAQA.

There are a number of key differences between A1/V1 and the TAQA

All of the TAQA qualifications have been written for QCF so are credit rated, placed on the QCF and have QCF levels – which differ from NVQ levels and are available as Awards and Certificates (according to the role application).

There are mandatory knowledge-only units in each of the qualifications. They are available to anyone who is carrying out assessment and quality assurance roles – not as previously just for those working with NVQs. They have been developed for those working in accredited learning, non- accredited learning, the NQF and the QCF and can be used by people who do not assess qualifications but who assess competence in the workplace. There is a different unit specifically designed for assessors who do not assess competence in the workplace but assess knowledge (such as in classrooms). There is also a qualification for quality assurance staff who manage or co-ordinate the work of teams of internal quality assurers.

Web Link Search – City & Guilds Qualification handbook 6317



Qualification units

Level 3 Award in Assessing Competence in the Work Environment £3,500

Level 3 Award in Assessing Vocationally Related Achievement £3,800

Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement £4,800

Please note:
City & Guilds TAQA Awards and Certificates are stand-alone units to be achieved within 3 years of commencing the learner journey. Minimum time scale allowed is spread over 12 weeks.

Accreditation of Prior Achievement is allowed for evidence within the last 3 years.

2016/17 Prices (price includes awarding body fees and course resources).

VAT is included in our price structure wherever applicable during 2021/22.

Help or guidance with your learning and development issues is available on request.

lion-awards2016Tutor of the Year: Michael Felse, Professional Skills Academy